Pain Medicine Fellowship

Ameet Nagpal, M.D.
Ameet Nagpal, M.D.
Associate Program Director
Maxim Eckmann, M.D.
Maxim Eckmann, M.D.
Program Director

The Department of Anesthesiology provides a one year, ACGME Accredited, Pain Medicine Fellowship which is designed to enable the fellow to develop the knowledge and skills to establish and manage a multidisciplinary pain clinic.

In addition to evaluating and treating outpatients with chronic pain, the fellow is involved with the Acute Pain Service. The fellow develops proficiency in interpreting radiographic and electrodiagnostic results. They will also learn the indication for and technique of neurolytic blocks, placing a dorsal column stimulator, and spinal infusion pump system.

The didactic portion of the fellowship requires the fellow to provide a formal, in depth presentation of a pain topic at the inter-institutional Pain Medicine Grand Rounds. The fellow is responsible for a slide presentation to the medical students as well as second and third year residents on a monthly basis regarding the topic of pain.

The research portion of the fellowship encourages the fellow to research, design, conduct, and complete a project under the guidance of the faculty with the expectation of the fellow to present and publish an abstract or article.

For more information, please contact the following:

Javette Dukes
Javette Dukes
Manager, Academic Programs
Department of Anesthesiology, UTHSCSA
Mail Code 7838
7703 Floyd Curl Drive
San Antonio, Texas 78229-3900